Wk 1 Ben Witter post and my response

Week 1 Leadership Post: To Publish or Present?

Posted in Week 1 on October 28, 2012 by benwitter

I am actually pretty torn between the two right now.

I really like the idea of presenting. There is nothing quite like the energy that exists at a live event. The unknown variables of audience receptiveness, response, or questions excite me. I like the spontaneity of the whole affair. I could practice and rehearse for months, yet I’m not exactly sure what I’ll say when the moment arises. The sounds audience members make when a novel idea strikes them is rewarding. Knowing that I shaped someone’s thought process or that I had an impact on how they perceive things is very gratifying.

On the other hand, publishing an article intrigues me as well. I can spend hours and hours making sure I say the right thing. With an article I know exactly what I am trying to convey and can make sure I use the words I need to convey those thoughts. There would be no butterflies or knots in the stomach because no public address would be made. Many more people might be reached with my ideas as the publication would be available to a broader range of people, as well as probably archived online for later viewing.

Well, I guess the only equitable way to decide is by surrendering to chance. So I’ll flip a coin. Heads I present, tails I publish.

There you have it. I’m publishing.

Sources:

All images are copyright compliant from morguefile.com

My Response

Ben once again you have amazed me with your words. I completely agree with your entire post. I believe that you would do a wonderful job in front of a large audience and would probably make the entire crowd want to rethink their jobs. One of the things that I love about writing a paper is that I would be able to control my mistakes and my hiccups. After watching your videos over the past 10 months I think that you would really inspire the entire group in front of you. You are a great leader and I am excited to hear what you do after you publish your work.

Leave a comment